The Blessings in my Life

I awoke this morning feeling crummy. Whole body hurt, feeling depressed, and so sick of being in this stupid neck brace.

I was having the whole pathetic poor me experience. But then I remembered how many blessings I have in my life.

Although I am still recovering from spinal surgery, I lived through the surgery and I was able to use my arms and legs.

One of the biggest changes in my life has been using essential oils and I am so glad I was introduced to them.

I put in a blend in my diffuser of lemon, peppermint, grapefruit, and frankincense. This is one of my new favorite combinations. I personally love the smell, although I go light on the citrus smells because I am not a huge fan of overly citrus smells. This combination tends to lift my mood and increase my energy level.

Now that I am no longer feeling down and have a little more energy, I realize how silly it is for me to always think about the negatives in my life. I have so many positives in my life. So, as I sat there breathing in the aroma of my essential oil blend, I looked around me. I had my dad there taking care of me and although, I am not at home with my husband and dogs, I am lucky to have family take care of me. Then my cousin called and we spoke for an hour. I realized how lucky I am to have a cousin that I am so close to. She is not only my cousin but my best friend or sister.

This afternoon my daughter will be home from school and even though she is 13 years old who hates me half the time, I am lucky to have a healthy, beautiful, smart child. Tonight, my husband will be coming over to help me shower and visit with me. I am lucky to have a husband willing to do those things and work so hard to provide for us.

I have realized that during this recovery period from spinal surgery, I need to take the time to reflect on my blessings. From now on, every morning, I will put in an uplifting essential oils blend in my diffuser, and I will reflect on my blessings. Life is to short to always focus on the negatives.

I love my life and even during the hard times, I plan to stay focused on the positives!

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Blessings in my Life

  1. I am so sorry to hear you are going though so much and wish you a speedy, full recovery. I suffer from chronic illness so I understand how it can be hard to focus on the good things. Do take care!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment